European University Cyprus Rector becomes a Member of the European Academy of Sciences and Arts

European University Cyprus Rector, Professor Kostas Gouliamos has been elected as a regular member of the European Academy of Sciences in Arts in Social Studies, following a decision of the Academic Appointment Committee.

This honourary distinction also serves as an acknowledgement of the innovative scientific and creative work carried out by Rector Gouliamos, as the European Academy of Sciences and Arts includes 39 Nobel Prize winners and 2,000 leading scientists and intellectuals as regular and associate members.

The European Academy of Arts and Sciences is one of the most prestigious academic institutions in the world and its headquarters are situated in Salzburg, Austria, Mozart's birthplace. It is governed by an 11-member Bureau, a six-member Senate and a seven-member Deanery. Honorary Members of the European Academy include, among others, political figures such as the Pope of Rome, Helmut Kohl (+) - former Chancellor of Germany, Jean-Claude Juncker - President of the European Commission, King Philip of Belgium, Prince Jean of Luxembourg, Doris Leuthard - President of the Swiss Confederation, Heinz Fische - 11th President of Austria, Borut Pahor - 4th President of Slovenia, Romano Prodi - 10th President of the European Commission & Former Prime Minister of Italy, Karolos Papoulias - former President of Greece, Viktor Klima - 20th Chancellor of Austria, and others.

The inclusion of Rector Gouliamos to the European Academy of Sciences and Arts reflects more generally on Cyprus, highlighting in particular the high level of the university community both of European University and of Cyprus. At a time when Cyprus is launching the establishment of the Cyprus Academy of Sciences, Literature and Arts, this international recognition of its scientific potential serves to reinforce these efforts.

The ceremony on the inclusion of Rector Kostas Gouliamos to the European Academy of Sciences and Arts is scheduled for 3 March 2018 in Salzburg, Austria.

This website is using cookies. More info. Agree More Info