Honorary Professor Nobel Laureate Ada E. Yonath

Honorary Professor of the European University Cyprus Israeli Nobel laureate in Chemistry, Prof.. Ada E. Yonath 

The nomination of Professor Ada E. Yonath, director of the Kimmelman Center for Biomolecular Structure in Israel and a Nobel Chemistry 2009 Laureate for studies on the structure and function of the ribosome, in Honorary Professor (Doctor Honoris Causa) in Medicine, after the proposal of the Rector, Prof. Kostas Gouliamos, was unanimously approved by the Senate of European University Cyprus. The ceremony took place on Saturday, November 14, at the opening of the 3rd Global Bio-Medical Conference "Bio-Medical Science CYPRUS", titled: "Medical School: Instrument Science and Culture." The conference was organized by the Medical School of European University Cyprus under the auspices of the Ministry of Health and the Cyprus Medical Association. Present was the Ambassador of Israel in Cyprus, the Honorary Ms. Yael Ravia-Zadok.

Distinguished speakers at the conference include, Professor of Pharmacology Achilleas Gravanis of the University of Crete; Professor of Neuroscience Adina T. Michael-Titus, Lead of the Neurotrauma and Neurodegeneration Group in the Centre for Neuroscience and Trauma at the Blizard Institute; Professor Paolo Riccio of the Institute of Organic Chemistry, Faculty of Sciences, in Bari, with impressive studies in research on multiple sclerosis; Associate Professor Konstantinos Poulas from the University of Patras; Professor Apostolos Manolis Director of the Cardiology Department of the Asklepeion Hospital, Athens, Greece. Speakers from Cyprus were the Professors Kleopas Kleopas, Cyprus Institute of Neurology and Genetics, Professor Konstantinos Delta University of Cyprus and the Associate Professor Marios Pantzaris, Cyprus Institute of Neurology and Genetics.

The conference was sponsored by Bayer/NOVAGEM LTD

This website is using cookies. More info. Agree More Info