Department of Humanities

The Department of Humanities is an interdisciplinary and multicultural unit. Our academic faculty and instructors come from a variety of cultural backgrounds including Cyprus, Germany, the UK and the USA, and hold expertise in a wide variety of fields including Linguistics, English and American Literatures, Gender Studies, English as a Foreign Language, English for Special Purposes, Academic Writing and Media and Communication Studies, and Hellenic Studies. Currently offering a BA and an MA in English Language and Literature, a BA in Mass Media and Communication, an MSc in Digital Media and an MA in Hellenic Studies, the Department also serves the university by being involved in almost all degrees since we offer, among others, courses in English as a Foreign Language, Communication, Public Speaking and Greek Language.

The Department of Humanities has established itself in Cypriot society through the continuous contribution of cultural events, seminars, lectures and international collaborations. Its academic staff has a vibrant presence in the literary and cultural scene of the island, promoting issues that relate to language, literature and society. Both our faculty members and our academic collaborators are distinguished in their respective areas of research and are driven by a passion for teaching and research both in traditional areas such as literature, linguistics, history, and philosophy, and also more cutting edge fields such as digital media, environmental studies, medical humanities and queer studies.

The Department’s dedication to teaching and research encourages students to approach their studies with passion and enthusiasm, many of whom seek graduate studies to further their knowledge. Those who choose not to pursue postgraduate studies seek employment in fields relevant to their degrees. Some have received distinctions for their creative work, while others are successful professionals who seek to enrich their knowledge in the fields addressed by the degrees offered by the Department. Furthermore, through the Language Centre, the Department offers language courses to all programs across the University both face-to-face and via distance learning and continuously seeks innovative ways to promote language learning and to ensure that the latest trends and methodologies are incorporated in the curricula of our language courses.

The Department of Humanities aims to continuously contribute to the community and its evolution, and to enable students to excel as professionals while being active citizens and productive members of society.

Dr. Charis Xinari

Chairperson, Department of Humanities

School of Humanities, Social and Education Science

 

 

Undergraduate Programs of Study


English Language and Literature (Bachelor of Arts)
The English Language and Literature program enables students to develop the critical skills needed for textual reading and analysis, as well as the practical skills required to understand and teach the world’s primary international language. The program covers a broad ...


Mass Media and Communication (Bachelor of Arts)
The BA Mass Media and Communication offers a unique degree that combines the theoretical and practical approach to media and communication studies, while also maintaining high standards of research. Its interdisciplinary nature and fostering critical thinking are core elements ...


Postgraduate Programs of Study


Digital Media (Master of Science)
This program provides students with the analytical skills to investigate digital media in the context of social, political and economic change while also providing them with the technical skills and know-how to become informed and active participants and professionals in the ...


English Language and Literature (Master of Arts)
The Master of Arts in English Language and Literature offers students the opportunity to examine literary, theoretical and critical texts from a variety of cultural contexts, fostering advanced skills of comprehension, interpretation, and analysis. A core feature of the program ...


Doctorate Programs of Study


There are no doctorate programs offered.

Administrative Staff > Departments


Name Position Phone Email
Marios Vryonides Dean,Professor, Sociology, Sociology of Education & Research Methods 22713112 M.Vryonides@euc.ac.cy
Yiannis Miralis Deputy Dean, Associate Professor, Music Education 22713135 Y.Miralis@euc.ac.cy

Name Position Phone Email
Charis Xinari Chairperson Associate Professor, Critical and Cultural Theory 22713120 C.Xinaris@euc.ac.cy
Stavros Stavrou Karayannis Vice-Chairperson, Associate Professor, Postcolonial Literature 22713133 S.Karayanni@euc.ac.cy
Petra Tournay-Theodotou Professor, English Literature 22713115 P.Tournay@euc.ac.cy
Dimitra Karoulla-Vrikki Associate Professor Sociolinguistics 22713247 D.Karoulla@euc.ac.cy
James Mackay Assistant Professor, American Literature 22713257 J.Mackay@euc.ac.cy
Charalambos Papageorgiou Assistant Professor, Philosophy 22713177 B.Papageorgiou@euc.ac.cy

Special Teaching Personnel


Name Position Phone Email
Panos Panayiotou Senior Instructor, English 22713121 P.Panayiotou@euc.ac.cy
Monica Hadjichrysanthou Senior Instructor, English & Communication 22713147 M.Hadjichrysanthou@euc.ac.cy
Claire Georghiou Senior Instructor, English 22713266 C.Georghiou@euc.ac.cy
Krystallo Nicolaou Instructor, English & Communication 22713160 K.Nicolaou@euc.ac.cy
Sonja Tilliros Instructor, English 22713262 S.Tilliros@euc.ac.cy

Adjunct Professors


Name Position Phone Email
Theodoros Roussopoulos Adjunct Professor, Media and Communication 22713258 T.Roussopoulos@external.euc.ac.cy
Christoforos Fokaides Adjunct Assistant Professor, Political Sciences 22713258 C.Fokaides@external.euc.ac.cy

Administrative Staff


Name Position Phone Email
Eleni Iacovidou Administrative Support 22559574 E.Iakovidou@euc.ac.cy
Ioanna Demou Administrative Assistant 22713081 I.Demou@euc.ac.cy
 
This website is using cookies. More info. Agree More Info