Council of the University

The European University Cyprus Council is the supreme governing body of the University. The Council is responsible for the management and administration of the revenue and property of the University and, subject to the powers of the Senate, has general control over the conduct of the affairs of the University.


Composition of the University Council



Members appointed by European University Cyprus:

Dr. Christoforos Hadjikyprianou - President (CEO - European University Cyprus)

Mr. Emmanouil Benteniotis - Vice President (Lawyer, Benteniotis & Associates Law Office)

Mrs. Androulla Vasiliou - Member (Former European Commissioner for Education, Culture, Multilingualism and Youth, Chair of the Board of Trustees of the Bank of Cyprus Oncology Centre)

Dr. Petros Agathangelou - Member (President of the Cyprus Medical Association)

Prof. Joseph S. Joseph - Member (Department of Social and Political Sciences - University of Cyprus; Former Ambassador of Cyprus in Greece)

Prof. Panos Razis - Member (Department of Physics - University of Cyprus)


Ex- Officio Member:

Prof. Kostas Gouliamos  - Member (Rector, European University Cyprus)


Members appointed by the Senate

Mr. Dimitris Pierides - Member (President of the Pierides Foundation)

Prof. Nicos G. Terezopoulos - Member (Mining Engineering and Metallurgy)


Faculty representative

Dr. Loizos Symeou - Member (Dean, School of Humanities, Social and Education Sciences)


Non-Teaching (Administrative) Personnel Representative

Mr. Costas Papaconstantinou - Member (Director, Information Systems & Operations - European University Cyprus)


Student Representative

Mr. Michalis Katsouris - Member (President, EUC Student Union)